South Carolina Philharmonic: Fantastique Finale & Chamber Music Charleston: 5th Anniversary Concert

cl-WEB-morihiko-nakahara-150From the South Carolina Philharmonic’s season-ending concert in April of 2011 at the Koger Center in Columbia, this concert begins with an excerpt from Holst’s ever-popular The Planets performed by the South Carolina Philharmonic Youth Orchestra. The concert also includes the landmark Symphonie Fantastique by Hector Berlioz. Then the focus moves to the low country to celebrate the 5th anniversary of Chamber Music Charleston with inventive music by the 20th century Czech composer Bohuslav Martinů and a masterwork by Brahms.
Listen in pop-up player Listen to selections in a pop-up player
Listen to the entire program: South Carolina Phil & Chamber Music Charleston: Fantastique!

Billboard and Introduction to "Jupiter" - Lauren Rico

Holst: "Jupiter, Bringer of Jollity" from The Planets
South Carolina Philharmonic Youth Orchestra
Dr. Jerry Gatch, conductor

Introduction to Symphonie Fantastique - Lauren Rico

Berlioz: Symphonie Fantastique
South Carolina Philharmonic Orchestra
Morihiko Nakahara, conductor

Introduction to Revue de Cuisine - Lauren Rico

Martinu: Revue de Cuisine
Members of Chamber Music Charleston:
Alan Molina, violin; Timothy O'Malley, cello;
Charles Messersmith, clarinet; Sandra Nikolajevs, bassoon;
Andrew Armstrong, piano

Introduction to Brahms' Piano Quartet - Lauren Rico

Brahms: Piano Quartet in g minor, Op. 25
Alan Molina, violin, Ben Weiss, viola; Tim O'Malley, cello;
Andrew Armstrong, piano

End of the show - Lauren Rico

Related Video

back to top